Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

July 27, 2021

The Honorable Tom Vilsack Secretary United States Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, DC 20250

Dear Mr. Secretary:

As you are well aware, farmers and agricultural businesses across this nation have been hurt by recent natural disasters. In Arkansas, our farmers have experienced flooding, high winds, hail, tornadoes, and other storm damage resulting in thousands of acres lost crops, necessitating replanting, which will likely result in smaller harvests and more expenses—a hit to revenue that Arkansas agriculture cannot afford.

Agriculture is vital to the state, and losses our producers have endured will cause significant economic impacts. Since April 1, 2021, the flooding and other storms have either damaged or prevented the planting of row crops such as rice, soybeans, cotton, corn, and wheat; as well as certain fruit and vegetable crops.

We join Governor Asa Hutchinson in supporting the Arkansas USDA Farm Service Agency's request for Secretarial Disaster Designation, submitted on June 25, 2021; and we ask that you declare the following counties as agriculture-related disaster areas.

Arkansas	Calhoun	Drew	Lincoln	Phillips	Pulaski
Benton	Chicot	Jefferson	Lonoke	Pope	White
Bradley	Desha	Lawrence	Monroe	Prairie	Yell

Due to the time sensitivity of this matter, we thank you for your consideration of this request for a Secretarial Disaster Designation, and we hope that you will support Arkansas farmers and agricultural businesses during this difficult time. Thank you.

Sincerely,

John Boozman,

United States Senator

Tom Cotton,

United States Senator

Rick Crawford

Member of Congress

French Hill

Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman

Member of Congress

Steve Womack

Member of Congress