

October 9, 2020

VIA ELECTRONIC DELIVERY:

The Honorable Alex M. Azar, II Secretary U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 200 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, DC 20201-1114

Dear Secretary Azar:

We write today with concerns regarding the Post-Payment Notice of Reporting Requirements published on September 19, 2020. We have grave concerns this change in reporting requirements for funds received from the Provider Relief Fund (PRF) will create uncertainty and financial hardship for hospitals in our states, particularly in rural areas. In the midst of the COVID19 pandemic, our health care providers need more certainty, not less.

The CARES Act, enacted in March 2020, established the PRF to reimburse eligible health care providers for health care-related expenses and lost revenues attributable to the coronavirus. Hospitals and other providers received funds and have budgeted accordingly. However, we are still in the midst of a pandemic and providers continue to face uncertainty in terms of loss of revenue from delayed procedures and care as well as increased expenses related to COVID 19.

Based upon the impact of these changes to access to health care, we urge you to carefully consider any policies that disproportionately affect rural and safety net hospitals.

Sincerely,

/s/ Marsha Blackburn United States Senator /s/ John Barrasso United States Senator

/s/ John Boozman United States Senator /s/ Richard Burr United States Senator /s/ Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

/s/ John Cornyn United States Senator /s/ Susan M. Collins United States Senator

/s/ Kevin Cramer United States Senator

/s/ Mike Crapo United States Senator /s/ Steve Daines United States Senator

/s/ Joni K. Ernst United States Senator

/s/ Cory Gardner United States Senator

/s/ Josh Hawley United States Senator

/s/ James M. Inhofe United States Senator

/s/ Joe Manchin III United States Senator /s/ Deb Fischer United States Senator

/s/ Lindsey O. Graham United States Senator

/s/ Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

/s/ Kelly Loeffler United States Senator

/s/ Jerry Moran United States Senator /s/ Lisa Murkowski United States Senator

/s/ James E. Risch United States Senator /s/ David A. Perdue United States Senator

/s/ M. Michael Rounds United States Senator

/s/ Marco Rubio United States Senator /s/ Tim Scott United States Senator

/s/ Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

/s/ John Thune United States Senator /s/ Dan Sullivan United States Senator

/s/ Thom Tillis United States Senator

/s/ Roger F. Wicker United States Senator

.