

United States Department of Agriculture

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

August 12, 2021

The Honorable Asa Hutchinson Governor State of Arkansas 500 Woodlane Street, Room 250 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

Dear Governor Hutchinson:

Thank you for your letter of June 24, 2021, requesting a primary county disaster designation for 18 Arkansas, due to damages and losses caused by multiple disasters that occurred during the 2021 Crop Year.

USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation; therefore, I am designating 18 Arkansas counties as primary natural disaster areas, in two separate disaster designations. In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by these disasters.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

Thomas J. Vilsack

Secretary

Enclosure

The Honorable Asa Hutchinson Page 1

<u>Designation Number 1: Excessive rain, flash flooding, flooding, high winds, and lightening that occurred during April 1 through June 11, 2021:</u>

Primary County:

Arkansas	(18)	
Arkansas	Drew	Phillips
Benton	Jefferson	Pope
Bradley	Lawrence	Prairie
Calhoun	Lincoln	Pulaski
Chicot	Lonoke	White
Desha	Monroe	Yell

Contiguous Counties:

Adair

Arkansas	(31)		
Ashley	Garland	Madison	Scott
Carroll	Grant	Montgomery	Searcy
Cleburne	Greene	Newton	Sharp
Cleveland	Independence	Ouachita	Union
Conway	Jackson	Perry	Van Buren
Craighead	Johnson	Randolph	Washington
Dallas	Lee	St. Francis	Woodruff
Faulkner	Logan	Saline	

Contiguous Areas in Adjacent States:

Louisiana East Carroll	(3) Morehouse	West Carroll
Mississippi	(5)	
Bolivar	Issaquena	Washington
Coahoma	Tunica	
Missouri	(2)	
Barry	McDonald	
Oklahoma	(2)	

Delaware

The Honorable Asa Hutchinson Page 2

Designation Number 2: Hail that occurred on May 6, 2021:

Primary County:

Arkansas (1)

Lawrence

Contiguous Counties:

Arkansas (6)

Craighead Independence Randolph Greene Jackson Sharp