Press Releases

U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) joined 42 of his colleagues urging President Obama to work with Congress to reach an agreement that will dismantle Iran’s nuclear program.

In a letter to President Obama, the senators documented their concerns that the administration is pursuing a weaker deal with Iran that will allow the country to continue its illicit nuclear program and urged the President to insist that Iran meet the requirements that Congress and members of his administration have previously outlined.

“We have watched with concern as your administration has hinted at ‘creative solutions’ that abandon the clear requirements of U.N. Security Council Resolutions, and shifted course away from essential requirements Congress has stressed in order to meet Iran’s unreasonable demands,” the senators wrote. “Your negotiators appear to have disregarded clear expressions from the Senate emphasizing the need for a multi-decade agreement requiring Iran to fully suspend its enrichment and reprocessing activities, to dismantle its illicit nuclear infrastructure, and completely disclose its past work on nuclear weaponization. We see no indication your negotiators are pressing Iran to abandon efforts to develop an intercontinental ballistic missile that could reach American soil. Iran’s refusal to seriously address these issues raises fundamental questions about the sincerity of its participation in this process.”

The letter, led by Senators Marco Rubio (R-FL) and Kirk (R-IL), was also signed by Senators Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Bob Corker (R-TN), John Cornyn (R-TX), John Thune (R-SD), David Vitter (R-LA), John Barrasso (R-WY), Mike Enzi (R-WY), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Mike Johanns (R-NE), Dan Coats (R-IN), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Dean Heller (R-NV), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), James Risch (R-ID), Susan Collins (R-ME), Mike Lee (R-UT), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Deb Fischer (R-NE), James Inhofe (R-OK), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Rob Portman (R-OH), Richard Shelby (R-AL), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Tom Coburn (R-OK), John McCain (R-AZ), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Richard Burr (R-NC), John Hoeven (R-ND), Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Tim Scott (R-SC), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Jeff Sessions (R-AL) and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK). 

A PDF of the letter is available here

Related Files