Press Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) showed his support for the newly unveiled U.S. Marshals Museum commemorative coin designs. 

“These great designs highlight the dedication and commitment of the men and women who serve in the U.S. Marshals Service as well as Fort Smith’s role in the history of this law enforcement agency. These coins are a great tribute to those who sacrifice their lives for law and order. I’m proud to have played a role in accomplishing this commemoration and celebrating Fort Smith’s storied history with the Marshals Service,” Boozman said. 

Boozman, U.S. Senator Mark Pryor (D-AR) along with Congressman Steve Womack (R-3rd) introduced legislation in 2011 to mint coins in commemoration of the 225th anniversary of the U.S. Marshals Service. In April 2012, President Obama signed into law the United States Marshals Service 225th Anniversary Commemorative Coin Act

The commemorative coin, the first to honor the U.S. Marshals Service, will be minted in 2015 honoring the 225th anniversary of the agency. The U.S. Marshals Service recognizes that a commemorative coin is an effective way for Americans to show their appreciation for the work it has done since 1789. In 2008, the U.S. Marshals Service established a 225th Anniversary Committee to support and facilitate marketing efforts for a commemorative coin and other activities honoring observances of the anniversary. 

A portion of the proceeds from the sale of the coins will go to the U.S. Marshals Service Museum to be located in Fort Smith. The funds will be used for the preservation, maintenance, and display of artifacts and documents from the U.S. Marshals Service.