Press Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator John Boozman today joined 43 of his Senate colleagues in filing a friend-of-the-court brief urging the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals in Atlanta to uphold a Florida federal judge’s ruling that the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act is unconstitutional. 

The amici curiae brief argues the Individual Mandate in the law ‘exceeds the proper scope of the Commerce Clause’ that ‘would result in a dramatic expansion of Congressional power without any realistic limitation on its reach.’ 

“I continue to fight this overreach of government. Americans deserve meaningful health care reform that provides quality, affordable access for all citizens. Unfortunately, this law fails to accomplish these goals. ObamaCare costs more than $1.5 trillion, raises taxes on millions of Americans, cuts Medicare funding, and does nothing to control costs. No matter how you look at this, it’s not a good deal for America and we’re using every avenue to undo this damage,” Boozman said. 

Boozman has continuously opposed this law, most recently voting to repeal the law and strip the burdensome 1099 reporting requirements as well as voting to defund the law.

The following Senators signed the brief: Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY), Sen. Roy Blunt (R-MO), Sen. John Boozman (R-AR), Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC), Sen. Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Sen. Daniel Coats (R-IN), Sen. Tom Coburn (R-OK), Sen. Thad Cochran (R-MS), Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME), Sen. Bob Corker (R-TN), Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX), Sen.  Mike Crapo (R-ID), Sen. Jim DeMint (R-SC), Sen. Michael Enzi (R-WY), Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Sen. Dean Heller (R-NV), Sen. John Hoeven (R-ND), Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX), Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK), Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Sen. Mike Johanns (R-NE), Sen. Ron Johnson (R-WI), Sen. Mark Kirk (R-IL), Sen. Jon Kyl (R-AZ), Sen. Mike Lee (R-UT), Sen. Richard Lugar (R-IN), Sen. John McCain (R-AZ), Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS), Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY), Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH), Sen. James Risch (R-ID), Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS), Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL), Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL), Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME), Sen. John Thune (R-SD), Sen. Pat Toomey (R-PA), Sen. David Vitter (R-LA), Sen. Roger Wicker (R-MS).