Press Releases

WASHINGTON –U.S. Senators John Boozman and Mark Pryor, along with Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-1), Tim Griffin (AR-2), Steve Womack (AR-3), and Mike Ross (AR-4) today wrote to President Barack Obama and FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate supporting Governor Beebe’s appeal of FEMA’s denial of a major disaster declaration for the state of Arkansas.  The state submitted the appeal after their request for a major disaster declaration was denied on June 17.

After severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding swept through the state, Governor Beebe requested a major disaster declaration for Franklin and Johnson Counties. The Governor specifically requested Individual Assistance for Franklin and Johnson Counties, Public Assistance for Crawford, Franklin, and Johnson Counties, and Hazard Mitigation statewide to help Arkansans in need. 

Despite state and local efforts to clean up and rebuild communities, the extent of the damage has surpassed the state’s ability to respond.  The frequency and severity of the disasters have exhausted the financial resources of local governments, volunteer organizations, and the state’s disaster-relief fund.  Federal assistance is needed to help these communities rebuild and recover.

The delegation’s letter of support for the state’s appeal can be found below.

Related Files