Press Releases

WASHINGTON D.C. – U.S. Senators Mark Pryor and John Boozman today joined Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-1), Tim Griffin (AR-2), Steve Womack (AR-3), and Tom Cotton (AR-4) to announce that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has issued a major disaster declaration for the state, allowing local communities to recover from severe storms and flooding this August.

“Arkansans are doing everything they can to put their lives back together, but cleaning up the damage and debris has required significant time, manpower, and funds,” Pryor said. “This critical investment will reinforce their efforts and ensure families and businesses can get back on their feet.”

“I am pleased that FEMA recognizes the need for assistance in Northwest Arkansas,” Boozman said. “These funds are crucial to helping families, businesses and communities cleanup, rebuild and move forward.”

“The severe weather last month may have damaged property and homes, but it hasn’t dampened Arkansans’ spirit. This disaster declaration will augment the work the people of Arkansas have already taken up in rebuilding our state,” said Crawford.

“I appreciate FEMA acting quickly to approve Arkansas’s request for disaster assistance, which will help those affected by last month’s storms get their lives back to normal,” said Griffin.

"Access to federal assistance is critical to help Third District Arkansans recover from this summer's devastating storms. I am grateful for this declaration,” said Womack.

"I’m pleased the process worked as intended—these counties sought a federal disaster declaration, which, now granted, triggers eligibility to apply for and receive already-appropriated funds," said Cotton. "By adhering to well-established procedures taxpayers remain protected while people of these communities see the benefit of federal aid in their time of need."

Under this designation, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Marion, and Newton counties will be eligible to apply for Public Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. All Arkansas counties will also be eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which helps prevent or reduce long-term risks to life and property.