Press Releases

WASHINGTON- U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) joined a bipartisan group of Senators to reintroduce the Uyghur Forced Labor Prevention Act. This bill will ensure that goods made with Uyghur forced labor in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region (XUAR) do not enter the United States. Earlier this year, the U.S. Department of State issued a determination that the Chinese Communist Party is committing crimes against humanity and genocide against Uyghurs and other Muslim minorities in Xinjiang. 

“The Chinese Communist Party’s ongoing human rights abuses against Uyghurs and other Muslim minorities must end. The United States has a responsibility to help protect ethnic abd religious minorities. This bill is a first step to ensuring we hold the CCP accountable for its heinous actions,” Boozman said.

Senators Marco Rubio (R-FL) and Jeff Merkley (D-OR) led introduction of the legislation. In addition to Boozman, the bill is cosponsored by Senators Tom Cotton (R-AR), James Risch (R-ID), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), John Cornyn (R-TX), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Susan Collins (R-ME), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Steve Daines (R-MT), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), James Lankford (R-OK), Mark Warner (D-VA), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Tina Smith (D-MN), Rick Scott (R-FL), Cory Booker (D-NJ), John Thune (R-SD), Ed Markey (D-MA), Mike Braun (R-IN), Chris Coons (D-DE), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Todd Young (R-IN) and Ben Cardin (D-MD).

Boozman cosponsored the Uyghur Human Rights Policy Act of 2020, the first piece of legislation regarding Uyghurs in the world to be signed into law. Last year, Boozman and his colleagues urged then-U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo and then-U.S. Secretary of Treasury Steven Mnuchin to impose sanctions against Chinese officials responsible for the ongoing atrocities in the XUAR against Uyghurs and other Muslim minorities.