Press Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators John Boozman (R-AR) and Tom Cotton (R-AR) joined Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Ranking Member Lindsey Graham (R-SC) to introduce a resolution designating the week of May 12 through 18, 2024 as National Police Week. The resolution was cosponsored by 72 of their colleagues. 

“During National Police Week we recognize law enforcement officers for selflessly serving and protecting our communities while remembering those who lost their lives in the line of duty and honoring their dedication, heroism and legacy,” Boozman said.

“Law enforcement officers put their lives at risk every day to keep our communities safe. During National Police week, we honor both those serving and the officers who made the ultimate sacrifice,” Cotton said

The resolution:

  • Designates the week of May 12 through May 18, 2024, as “National Police Week.”
  • Expresses unwavering support for law enforcement officers across the United States in the pursuit of preserving safe and secure communities.
  • Recognizes the need to ensure that law enforcement officers have the equipment, training and resources that are necessary in order to protect the health and safety of the officers while the officers protect the public.
  • Acknowledges that police officers and other law enforcement personnel, especially those who have made the ultimate sacrifice, should be remembered and honored.
  • Expresses condolences and solemn appreciation to the loved ones of each law enforcement officer who has made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty.
  • Encourages the people of the United States to observe National Police Week by honoring law enforcement personnel and promoting awareness of the essential mission that law enforcement personnel undertake in service to their communities and the United States.

Along with Boozman, Cotton, Graham and Durbin, the resolution is cosponsored by Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and Senators Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), John Cornyn (R-TX), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Mike Lee (R-UT), Chris Coons (D-DE), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Alex Padilla (D-CA), John Kennedy (R-LA), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Jack Reed (D-RI), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Tom Carper (D-DE), Susan Collins (R-ME), Bob Casey (D-PA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Jon Tester (D-MT), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), John Thune (R-SD), Michael Bennet (D-CO), John Barrasso (R-WY), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Jim Risch (R-ID), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Angus King (I-ME), Tim Kaine (D-VA), John Hoeven (R-ND), Gary Peters (D-MI), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Rand Paul (R-KY), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tim Scott (R-SC), Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Fetterman (D-PA), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), James Lankford (R-OK), Steve Daines (R-MT), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Todd Young (R-IN), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Mike Braun (R-IN), Rick Scott (R-FL), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-KS), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Ted Budd (R-North Carolina), J.D. Vance (R-OH), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), Katie Britt (R-AL) and Pete Ricketts (R-NE).

Click here for text of the resolution.