Press Releases

WASHINGTON––As President Biden and Democrats’ disastrous immigration policies continue to fuel an unprecedented border crisis, U.S. Senators John Boozman (R-AR) and Tom Cotton (R-AR) joined Senators Thom Tillis (R-NC), John Cornyn (R-TX) and Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) in filing legislation to block the administration’s outrageous plan to pay up to $450,000 to illegal immigrants using taxpayer funds.

The Protect American Taxpayer Dollars from Illegal Immigration Act would prohibit any federal funds, including money from the Department of Justice’s Judgment Fund, from being used to pay settlements for illegal immigrants. 

“Americans are struggling to buy groceries, fill up their cars with gas, heat their homes and purchase Christmas gifts, yet the Biden administration wants to reward illegal immigrants with six-figure payouts per individual,” Boozman said. “It’s absurd and a slap in the face to hardworking families across our country that will only provide even further motivation for migrants to break our laws and enter the U.S. without authorization. This dangerous idea deserves to be rejected immediately.” 

“It would be unthinkable to pay damages to a burglar who broke into your home for the ‘psychological trauma’ they endured during the crime,” said Cotton. “And yet the Biden administration wants to reward migrants who illegally entered our country with up to $450,000 each for just that reason. The Biden administration’s promises of citizenship and entitlement programs have already caused the worst border crisis in history—a huge cash reward will make it even worse. This is the height of insanity.” 

Senators James Risch (R-ID), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Steve Daines (R-MT), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Mike Lee (R-UT), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), James Lankford (R-OK), John Hoeven (R-ND), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Richard Shelby (R-AL), Rick Scott (R-FL), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Mike Braun (R-IN), John Thune (R-SD), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Todd Young (R-IN), Susan Collins (R-ME) and Mitt Romney (R-UT) have also co-sponsored the bill. 

For bill text, click here.