Press Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) praised innovate teaching efforts of Arkansas teachers Stacey Dominguez and Eva Arrington, recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). 

Dominguez, a kindergarten teacher at Shaw Elementary in Springdale, was recognized for teaching math using the Cognitively Guided Instruction (CGI) method that uses a problem solving approach. Arrington, a fourth grade teacher at Drew Central School in Monticello, was recognized for engaging her students in hands-on experiments to teach them about science.    

“Stacey Dominguez and Eva Arrington are some of the finest teachers in America.  They empower their students everyday with innovative teaching practices, passion, and a true love for math and science,” Boozman said. 

“It has been such an honor to be selected as a Presidential Awardee in the area of mathematics. We as educators know that we have our work cut out for us in the teaching of math and science. With the support of the Arkansas Department of Education, the state of Arkansas is focused on mathematics with the implementation of CGI. We are moving forward on the right track,” Dominguez said. 

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level.   

PAEMST recipients accepted their Presidential certificates at a ceremony Wednesday in Washington, D.C.