Press Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator John Boozman and Congressman French Hill (AR-02) introduced resolutions recognizing the 70th anniversary of the Fulbright Program, the United State’s flagship educational exchange established by former Arkansas Senator J. William Fulbright.

“Senator Fulbright’s vision for connecting our world through education is an important diplomatic tool. The Fulbright program creates a better understanding of different cultures and ideals while promoting peace and higher education. Today, as violence and intolerance grows across the globe, I believe the Fulbright program remains a beacon of hope for a better future,” Boozman said.

“Senator Fulbright’s name has been engraved in Arkansas history and his work has had a mighty impact on the lives of countless youth and professors throughout the world. Over the past year, I have had the good fortune to meet with Fulbright Scholars from many different countries, each offering their own unique and inspiring story that was made possible by the legacy of Senator Fulbright. As an Arkansan, I am proud of this extraordinary contribution to the international community, and I am honored to be able to celebrate its global impact by introducing this resolution with Senator Boozman,” Hill said.

On Aug. 1, 1946, President Harry Truman Fulbright’s legislation into law creating this international exchange program designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the U.S. and other countries. The Fulbright Program has educated more than 370,000 students from 165 countries, including 54 Nobel Laureates and 33 heads of state.

The Senate resolution is cosponsored by Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT). House cosponsors include the entire Arkansas House Congressional Delegation Representatives Rick Crawford (R-AR), Steve Womack (R-AR), Bruce Westerman (R-AR) and Tom Cole (R-OK), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Charles Rangel (D-NY) and Mark Takai (D-HI).