Press Releases

WASHINGTON— U.S. Senators John Boozman and Tom Cotton—along with Congressmen Rick Crawford, French Hill, Steve Womack and Bruce Westerman—announced that President Trump approved a major disaster declaration in Arkansas due to extensive damage as a result of a tornado and severe storms that struck Craighead County on March 28, 2020.  

“We are pleased with this quick response from the administration which will provide financial assistance to speed up recovery efforts in the wake of the devastating tornado and severe storms that hit Craighead County. President Trump’s swift action to approve the state’s request for a disaster declaration is appreciated given the economic toll that the COVID-19 pandemic has already taken on the state of Arkansas,” members said. 

The delegation recently sent a letter to the president in supportof Governor Asa Hutchinson’s call for a disaster declaration.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s announcement of the approval of the emergency declaration can be found here.