Press Releases

WASHINGTON – As illegal immigrants continue to flock to our southern border, U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) joined Ron Johnson (R-WI) along with 28 senators to introduce a resolution of disapproval under the Congressional Review Act (CRA) to overturn a proposed Biden administration rule that would illegally upend the U.S. asylum approval process.

The new rule would exacerbate the crisis at the southern border and encourage fraudulent asylum claims by allowing illegal border crossers who claim asylum to have their application approved by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) officials, not immigration judges, and to not be detained while their application is pending.

“President Biden created the chaos and crisis on our border with his terrible policies and rhetoric,” Boozman said. “As record numbers of illegal immigrants attempt to enter our country, short-circuiting the asylum process to weaken efforts to vet their claims will only serve to incentivize more border crossing. I will continue to fight to stop illegal immigration, protect our sovereignty and stand up against the Executive Branch actions to bypass Congress and escape accountability from the American people.”

 “The Biden administration is sending a clear message: our borders are open, you will not be kept in custody, and you will not have to see a judge to stay here. In a time where we surpassed 2 million illegal crossings at the southern border last year and are on track for even more this year, the proposed rule will only lead to more illegal migration for an already overwhelmed immigration system. We strongly oppose the Biden Administration’s reckless attempt to unconstitutionally rewrite the asylum laws in America. The changes the administration is proposing cannot come from unelected bureaucrats, but rather from Congress. I thank my colleagues for joining in this effort,” said Johnson.

Senators John Barrasso (R-WY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Mike Braun (R-IN), Tom Cotton (R-AR), John Cornyn (R-TX), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Steve Daines (R-MT), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Josh Hawley (R-MO), John Hoeven (R-ND), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), John Kennedy (R-LA), Mike Lee (R-UT), James Lankford (R-OK), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Rand Paul (R-KY), Jim Risch (R-ID), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Rick Scott (R-FL) and Roger Wicker (R-MS) joined Boozman and Johnson to introduce the resolution.  

On October 19, 2021, Boozman and Johnson, along with 22 Senate Republicans and 66 House Republicans, submitted public comments to the Federal Register in opposition to the rule.

The CRA can be used by Congress to overturn certain federal agency regulations and actions through a joint resolution of disapproval. If a CRA joint resolution of disapproval is approved by both houses of Congress and signed by the President, or if Congress successfully overrides a presidential veto, the rule at issue is invalidated.

The full text of the resolution can be found here.