Press Releases

Disaster Declaration for State Allows for Funds to Recover from Severe Winter Storms

Designation Makes State Eligible for Funds to Recover from Severe Winter Storms

Jan 07 2014

WASHINGTON– U.S. Senators Mark Pryor and John Boozman, along with Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-1), Tim Griffin (AR-2), Steve Womack (AR-3), and Tom Cotton (AR-4) today applauded FEMA’s decision to designate Arkansas as a disaster area, making Arkansans eligible for financial assistance to recover from losses caused by last year’s severe winter storms. In December, the delegation sent letters to the President and FEMA supporting Governor Beebe’s disaster declaration request. 

Under this designation, the following counties will be eligible to apply for Public Assistance for emergency work and the repair and replacement of disaster-damaged facilities: Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Newton, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sharp, and Van Buren Counties. The entire state is eligible for Hazard Mitigation, which provides assistance to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.

Related Posts