Press Releases

WASHINGTON – A resolution introduced by U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) commemorating the 125th anniversary of the Second Morrill Act, legislation that established educational opportunities for African-Americans with the creation of 19 land-grant universities passed the Senate by unanimous consent. 

The 1890 Land-Grant Universities are a network of historically black colleges and universities that were created to promote education in agriculture and the mechanic arts and provide access to education for students who had been previously denied opportunities at land grant universities because of race. These schools continue this mission as leaders in research, innovation and development for agriculture and extension programs. 

“The contributions of 1890 Land-Grant Universities to scientific research are changing the world. Their mission is still as relevant today as we seek advanced methods to improve our food sources and offer all students an opportunity to realize their dream of a college education. The University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff was created by the Second Morrill Act and is an accomplished leader in agriculture innovation. I am proud to recognize UAPB and all 1890 Land-Grant Universities,” Boozman said. 

The following schools are 1890 Land Grant Universities: 

  • Alabama A&M University
  • Alcorn State University
  • Central State University
  • Delaware State University
  • Florida A&M University
  • Fort Valley State University
  • Kentucky State University
  • Langston University
  • Lincoln University
  • North Carolina A&T State University
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • South Carolina State University
  • Southern University System
  • Tennessee State University
  • Tuskegee University
  • University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
  • University of Maryland Eastern Shore
  • Virginia State University
  • West Virginia State University 

August 30, 2015 marks the 125th anniversary of the enactment of the Second Morrill Act. 

The resolution was cosponsored by Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Tom Carper (D-DE), Thad Cochran (R-MS), Chris Coons (D-DE), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), David Perdue (R-GA), Rob Portman (R-OH) Pat Roberts (R-KS), Tim Scott (R-SC), Jeff Sessions (R-AL), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Mark Warner (D-VA) and Roger Wicker (R-MS).