Press Releases

WASHINGTON––U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) joined Senators Chris Coons (D-DE) and James Lankford (R-OK) to introduce a resolution today condemning the death of Mahsa Amini, a 22-year-old Iranian woman whose killing last week by Iran’s “morality police” sparked nationwide protests, and calling on the government of Iran to end its systemic persecution of women. The resolution also celebrates the bravery of the Iranian people protesting Amini’s death despite a violent crackdown by the Iranian government.

“The Iranian regime’s history of oppression and violence against its own citizens is well documented. In the wake of Mahsa Amini’s death, Iranians are once again rising up to demand justice, protest brutality and appeal for basic human rights. The United States stands in solidarity with the Iranian people and echoes their calls for accountability,” said Boozman.

“As co-chair of the Human Rights Caucus, I commend the thousands of brave protesters who are risking their lives to advocate for human rights in Iran, including the human rights of Iranian women. The public response to Mahsa Amini’s death at the hands Iran’s morality police makes clear that the Iranian government’s oppression is no match for the demands for dignity and respect by the Iranian people,” Coons said. “This resolution sends a clear message that the United States stands behind the rights of women and peaceful protesters in Iran and reaffirms that our commitment to human rights, women’s rights, and democratic freedoms is core to our values and foreign policy.”

“We stand with the courageous Iranian people who are at this moment risking their lives to stand up for their freedom and the right to live their faith,” said Lankford. “The U.S. Senate should send a loud and clear message that we support the basic human rights of all people around the world, including the oppressed people of Iran living under a repressive regime.” 

The resolution is also cosponsored by Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL), Steve Daines (R-MT), Mike Braun (R-IN), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Gary Peters (D-MI), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Susan Collins (R-ME), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Patty Murray (D-WA), Bernie Sanders (D-VT), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Ted Cruz (R-TX), John Cornyn (R-TX), Jim Risch (R-ID) and Tom Cotton (R-AR).