Press Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators John Boozman and Tom Cotton congratulate Anna Cunningham of DeWitt and Hannah Robbins of Rogers on being selected as delegates for the United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP). Cunningham and Robbins were chosen from hundreds of applicants across Arkansas to attend the 54th annual Washington Week March 5-12. 

“Anna and Hannah’s commitment to academics, their community and public service is an excellent example for their peers. This is a great opportunity to experience the inner workings of Washington and learn about the legislative process first-hand. I am proud of their accomplishment and hope this program will help shape their interest in civic involvement,” Boozman said. 

“Congratulations to Hannah and Anna on their selection as delegates in the U.S. Senate Youth Program. They’ve demonstrated their commitment to their academics and their communities and I know they will benefit immensely from this program. I look forward to welcoming them to Washington this spring,” Cotton said. 

Cunningham is a student at DeWitt High School and serves as the student council president. She is a Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership delegate, a District III Future Business Leaders of America officer, a member of the track and cross country teams, senior class reporter, member of Quiz Bowl, Beta Club and yearbook staff. She participated in Girls State and Girls Nation. Her volunteer activities include working with Caring and Sharing Food Pantry, Lions Club, Samaritan’s Purse Operation Christmas Child and American Legion veterans’ projects. She will attend the University of Arkansas and would like to major in journalism.

Robbins is a student at Rogers Heritage High School and serves as secretary of the student council. She is a Crystal Bridges Museum teen council representative, the vice president of National Honor Society, a Link Crew mentoring program leader, a former Mayor’s Youth Council member and has attended Arkansas Governor’s School. Hannah is Quiz Bowl co-captain, a marching band drum major and a classical ballet dancer. Her volunteer activities include working with Crystal Bridges, her church and the Rogers Public Library. She plans a career in cybersecurity with the NSA.

Selby Tucker, a student at Hamburg High School and Nicholas Cude who attends Bentonville High School, were selected as alternates to the 2016 program.

While in Washington, Cunningham and DeWitt will join 102 other delegates in meetings with Senators, Congressional staff, the President, a Supreme Court Justice, leaders of cabinet agencies, an ambassador to the United States and senior members of the national media. The students will also tour many of the national monuments and several museums. 

USSYP allows two delegates, current high school seniors or juniors, from each state to be selected by the state’s chief education officer in cooperation with high school principals. In addition to outstanding leadership abilities and a strong commitment to public service, the students rank academically in the top one percent of their states.