Press Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Mark Pryor and John Boozman, along with Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-1), Tim Griffin (AR-2), Steve Womack (AR-3) and Mike Ross (AR-4) today announced that seventeen Arkansas colleges and universities will received a combined $6,459,878 in Upward Bound Program Grants to help Arkansas students develop the skills and motivation necessary to succeed in postsecondary education. 

The Upward Bound Program provides services such as academic tutoring, preparation courses for college entrance exams and applications, and alternative education programs to help students reach success in high school and in higher education pursuits. The program targets high school first-generation college students and low-income individuals. 

“These funds will expand educational and professional opportunities for Arkansas students, allowing them to reach their full academic potential,” Pryor said. “Upward Bound’s innovative curriculum is a win-win for students and Arkansas’s workforce.” 

“Upward Bound has had a positive impact for countless students seeking to expand their educational capabilities,” Boozman said. “This is a great opportunity to continue the progress and help Arkansans attain the quality education they need for the careers of tomorrow.” 

“Upward Bound offers students in Arkansas the chance to receive an education and ultimately become contributors to society. These funds will improve students’ lives and will help create a more dynamic workforce for Arkansas,” said Crawford. 

“As a member of the Congressional TRIO Caucus, I support the Upward Bound program because I firmly believe a key part of strengthening our economy and creating jobs here in Arkansas is to make college more attainable.  Helping students attain their educational potential is good for all of us,” said Griffin. 

“Educating our next generation is of the utmost importance,” said Womack. “The services provided by these grants will give our students the opportunity to succeed at the academic and professional levels.” 

“As the son of two retired public school educators, I am a firm believer that education is critical to our nation’s future and long-term economic prosperity,” said Ross.  “In order to prepare our young people to compete in this new global economy, we must ensure they have access to a world class education, and the Upward Bound Program helps prepare students for our 21st century global economy by providing them with the resources they need to succeed.”  

The following schools have been selected to receive Upward Bound Program Grants:

  • Arkansas Baptist College: $250,000
  • Arkansas State University, Beebe: $587,500
  • Arkansas State University, Jonesboro: $377,843
  • Arkansas Tech University: $250,000
  • Harding University: $287,881
  • Lyon College: $390,480
  • Northwest Arkansas Community College: $250,000
  • Ouachita Baptist University: $395,199 
  • Philander Smith College: $480,150
  • Rich Mountain Community College: $339,381.00
  • South Arkansas Community College, El Dorado: $262,500
  • South Arkansas University, Magnolia: $787,492
  • University of Arkansas, Fayetteville: $615,671
  • University of Arkansas, Fort Smith: $260,400
  • University of Arkansas, Monticello: $336,000
  • University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff: $339,381
  • University of Central Arkansas: $250,000