Press Releases

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senators Mark Pryor and John Boozman, along with Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-1), Tim Griffin (AR-2), Steve Womack (AR-3), and Mike Ross (AR-4) today wrote to President Barack Obama and FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate supporting Governor Mike Beebe’s request for a major disaster declaration for the state of Arkansas.

After severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding swept through the state, Governor Beebe requested a major disaster declaration for Franklin and Johnson Counties, and for Hazard Mitigation statewide.  The Governor also requested Direct Federal Assistance, which would provide financial help and services to Arkansans in need.   Despite state and local efforts to clean up and rebuild, greater federal assistance is needed to help communities recover.

The delegation’s letter of support for disaster assistance can be found below.

Related Files