Press Releases

WASHINGTON- U.S. Senators Mark Pryor and John Boozman, along with Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-1), Tim Griffin (AR-2), Steve Womack (AR-3), and Tom Cotton (AR-4) today announced that eleven Arkansas counties have been added to the state’s major disaster declaration. Earlier today, the delegation wrote to FEMA Administrator Fugate and the President in support of Governor Beebe’s request.

“When a storm like this comes through our state, it reminds us that there are no Democrats or Republicans—just Americans. We must continue to work together and do everything we can to help our neighbors in need,” Pryor said. “I’m pleased by the rapid response from FEMA, as well as others on the ground, to support Arkansans as they continue to pick up the pieces after these devastating storms.”

"It was immediately apparent that these storms devastated a number of Arkansas communities. I am pleased that FEMA is responding quickly so that Arkansans affected by the storms can begin the difficult task of rebuilding their lives," Boozman said.

"I appreciate the priority that FEMA has placed on determining the amount of damage that has occurred in the First District and designating these areas as being eligible to apply for public assistance," said Crawford. "My staff will be available to community leaders in these affected areas to assist in any way necessary as the repairs and rebuilding start to begin."

"In the wake of the severe devastation in Arkansas caused by the recent storm, our communities are in critical need of assistance. I appreciate the timely response to our request to designate these counties as major disaster areas. We will continue working to rebuild and recover," said Griffin.

"Despite the devastation left in the wake of these storms, those impacted remain Arkansas strong, and as they begin to rebuild, federal assistance is critical.  I am grateful for FEMA's prompt response and promise to help the Arkansans in need," said Womack.

"I'm glad FEMA continues to support Arkansas as we work to rebuild from last week’s storms and I will work with my colleagues to ensure all Arkansans get the assistance they need," said Cotton.

Under this designation, Clay, Cleburne, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Randolph, Sharp, Faulkner, and White Counties will now be eligible to apply for Public Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.