Press Releases

WASHINGTON – U.S Senator John Boozman (R-AR) applaud outstanding innovate teaching efforts of Arkansas teachers Stephaine Muckelberg and Vickie Logan, recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Muckelberg, a seventh and eighth grade teacher at Bald Knob Middle School in Bald Knob was recognized for using educational games and songs to address different learning styles and help students understand abstract concepts. 

“I am honored to be awarded this prestigious mathematics award. The Presidential Award reflects my passion and dedication for teaching, and I'm honored to be recognized for a profession that I love. Students who have shaped my teaching philosophy, mentoring from colleagues and administrators, and the constant support from my family have made receiving this award possible. This award inspires me to continue instilling a love of math in my students and continue making a difference in their lives.” Muckelberg said. 

Logan, a twelfth grade teacher at Parkview Arts Science Magnet High School in Little Rock was recognized for excellence in teaching Advanced Placement Biology. 

“Student success continues to be my benchmark, whether in the classroom, on standardized exams, in higher education, or in the workplace after graduation. As retirement nears, the Presidential Award is both a validation of a successful career in education and a reminder that there is still much to be done. I consider the Presidential Award to be ongoing and jointly earned by my students, their families, and myself as we continue to move forward together through the experience of learning,” Logan said.

“Stephaine and Vickie are some of the exceptional teachers in America. They tirelessly empower, motivate and inspire their students with their innovative exemplary teaching
practices, passion, and an undying love for math and science,” Boozman said. 

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level. 

PAEMST recipients accepted their Presidential certificates at a ceremony Thursday in Washington, D.C.